Brewtown Politico

Carrying a little stick and speaking loudly in Milwaukee


WI House delegation splits on Patriot Act

The House of Representatives has voted 251-174 to renew the USA Patriot Act despite the threat of a filibuster by Republican and Democratic Senators.

The Wisconsin delegation voted along party lines with Democrats Ron Kind, Tammy Baldwin, Gwen Moore, and Dave Obey voting no. Republicans Jim Sensenbrenner, Tom Petri, Paul Ryan, and Mark Green all voted yes. Full vote tally here.

The action now moves to the Senate where things could get very interesting. Senators Russ Feingold (D-WI), Larry Craig (R-ID), Dick Durbin (D-IL), John Sununu (R-NH), Lisa Murkowski (R-AK), Ken Salazar (D-CO), Chuck Hagel (R-NE), John Kerry (D-MA), and Barack Obama (D-IL) have all signed on to a letter urging fellow Senators to oppose the Patriot Act Conference report. Stay tuned.


At 12/15/2005 10:21:00 AM, Anonymous Jason said...

Sen. Harry Reid (D-NV) has come on board against it, too. This is looking better.

At 12/15/2005 11:50:00 AM, Blogger Kim said...

Our boy Russ was pretty great yesterday. Keeping fingers crossed.


Post a Comment

<< Home