Brewtown Politico

Carrying a little stick and speaking loudly in Milwaukee


Pelosi, Hoyer win top leadership spots

House Democrats have unanimously elected Nancy Pelosi to Speaker of the House and current House Minority Whip Steny Hoyer to become Majority Leader in the 110th Congress. Hoyer garnered 149 votes to 86 votes for Jack Murtha.

Here's how the leadership breaks down:

Nominee for Speaker:
Rep. Nancy Pelosi (D-CA)

Majority Leader:
Rep. Steny Hoyer (D-MD)

Majority Whip:
Rep. Jim Clyburn (D-SC)

Caucus Chair:
Rep. Rahm Emanuel (D-IL)

Vice-Caucus Chair:
Rep. John Larson (D-CT)

Murtha pretty much killed his chances when he came out against ethics reform legislation supported by Pelosi and House Democrats. Republicans will make a big deal out of this since Pelosi had endorsed Murtha, but in the end this stuff is largely inside baseball. Quoting Rep. Dave Obey (D-WI):
"There's such universal respect and affection for Nancy. She's gutsy as hell and she's willing to take a chance," he said. "It was bitter between the two candidates, I suppose, but it wasn't bitter among the members of the caucus. People get over this stuff."


Post a Comment

<< Home